So Why Do I Still Work?

Day 16

Song That Helped Me Out: Citizen Erased, by Muse

Word Count: 51461

So someone asked me today:

“If you want to publish a novel, why are you working a full-time job?”

It’s a fair question. After all, getting a novel ready for publication isn’t an easy task. Having to work 40 hours a week, plus commuting, eats up a lost of time for the week.

So here’s why I still continue to work:

  • Loans to pay off.
  • Steady source of income.
  • I like my job.

As I’ve said before, writing is more of a hobby than a career for me. When I get Perverse Selection published (either traditional or self) it’ll be something to cross off my life goal list.

I enjoy writing, and I want to keep it that way. 😀

2 responses to “So Why Do I Still Work?

  1. I think for a lot of us writers and aspiring authors, it’s mandatory. My husband and I, though he does well, NEED my income. Also, I work for the Feds, and we have good health insurance. Since my husband works for himself, insurance is hard to come by, expensive, and not as good. It does make it tough to do it all, but we do what we must, right? 🙂

  2. Oh I agree. If you have excellent time management skills (and some sanity), then working a job and still writing is totally possible.

Leave a Reply

