NaNoWriMo 3 – The Birth of Perverse Selection

Day 19

Song That Helped Me Out: Knights of Cydonia, by Muse

Word Count: 51908 (yeah yeah I need to write…)

Part three of a four part series

2009 was a year of accomplishments.

4.0 semester in college.

Attended my first anime convention.

Saw one of my favorite bands live.

Oh, and crushed NaNoWriMo that year.

While what I wrote the year before was garbage overall, I managed to find some useful recyclables that I could use for next year. A few character concepts and parts of the plot.

During my free time, I would be sketching out ideas for my third attempt. Trying to nail down some physical attributes and character traits for my fictional friends and foes was a fun task. As they were created, the pieces of the 2008 plot began to form around them. My characters would take those pieces and grow them into a coherent plot.

As November was getting closer, I just needed a setting for my characters. This time, I would stick to a more sci-fi setting and see what happened next.

This time, my ideas were flowing right into the computer. My characters were coming to life and a story was finally being born. What helped me a lot was getting my time management skills up to par. Despite a major project, some exams and other commitments, I managed to finish the month with over 50,000 words. I had a large group of people to write with every week and we all gave each other support and competition. My English professor was impressed with my attempt at NaNoWriMo and announced it to the class.

It felt incredible to finally have a complete draft of a story in the making. The draft had a lot of potential.

The only problem left was…editing it.

Leave a Reply

