NaNoWriMo 4 – Change?

Day 20

Song That Helped Me Out: 3’s & 7’s, by Queens of the Stone Age

Word Count: 52182

Part four of a four part series

So after getting a proof copy of my NaNo novel, I felt it was time to take a break and work on something different.

For 2010, I thought about trying a different genre all together. I wasn’t sure what to try, but I had a story in mind.

I thought I would try a character who was the typical smart but lazy kid in high school. He’s completely full of himself and thinks he’s all that. All that changes when he goes to college and he becomes humbled.

For this round, I had to make up a city, college, etc for my character to live in. I have to admit this was a bit of a fun exercise. Last time I did world building, it was more macro. This time it was micro because..well the planet Earth already exists! Weather, technology, etc. was set.

Things were set and ready to go. 2010 NaNoWriMo began and I was off to a good start. Factoring in job interviews and other shenanigans, I thought I was going to make it to fifty thousand words in time.

But as I was writing, I couldn’t stop thinking about Perverse Selection. I was entering the second week of NaNoWriMo, and I realized that I just wasn’t having fun this year. I was itching to write another draft of Perverse Selection.

So then I made an insane decision- throw out this year’s NaNo story and start off with a fresh word count and fresh draft.

So how the hell could I write fifty thousand words in about twenty days?

Simple. I just did.

Having already the characters and plot planned out. I just began writing with some differences. Different points of view. Different conflicts. Added characters, took out chapters.

With some work during the last few days, I managed to hit the fifty thousand word mark. I was impressed with myself.

It was here that I realized how much I wanted a complete story written and published. I was attached to Perverse Selection and it was my personal project.

Leave a Reply

