Sorry, No April Fools here!

Currently Listening To: Welcome To The Jungle, by Guns N’ Roses

So I’ve probably said this over nine thousand times, but I’m never writing without music playing.

I can’t even work without music playing through my giant headphones. It’s just how I stay focused.

How does music help me write you ask? Well let’s use the current song on my iPod as an example.

Welcome To The Jungle – from the album Appetite for Destruction (1987). Performed by Guns N’ Roses.

The song is not about a literal jungle, but rather the jungle known as the big city. Imagine you’re from a small town or country and you’re moving to New York City or Los Angeles. It truly feels like a jungle in the sense that you are on your own, fighting for your own survival. Drugs, sex, violence, etc. is everywhere.

So how does this song help me?

One of my characters has been mostly sheltered from the city life. You’d have to explain to him that some people pay others to drive them (taxis). Restaurants are unheard of, since he hunts for his own food. His only glimpses of what another world is like is through small items like soda cans and lingerie catalogs.

Eventually, he does escape his isolated prison and ventures to a grand city. I can’t decide if it’s more like an immigrant arriving to New York or more like a college student living on campus for the first time, away from parents.

Listening to Welcome To The Jungle helps me think about how my character would fare in a big city. It may not exactly be like how the song describes it, but it sure gives me ideas.

Leave a Reply

