Day Twenty – A Long Day (and a serious request)

Song of the Day: Life in the Mines, from the game Donkey Kong Country (GBC version)

Word Count: 44,762

Well, as many of you know, today is the summer solstice. Some of you also know that there’s a heat wave going around.

To be honest, I didn’t expect to write over 2,000 words today. I had planned today to be a light day, but I guess I was so eager to write I just managed to find time.

So in a previous post, I said I was planning something big. Here’s what I’m planning (and work with me on this):

I need to lose weight. Big time. Right now rocks orbit me as I walk (kidding).

As a way of motivation I want to lose weight based on the number of words I write for this month.

No, not lose over 40,000 pounds, but burn that many calories during the rest of the year.

As a general rule of thumb, it takes 3500 calories to burn a pound of fat right? So what I would plan to do is divide the number of words I write this month by 3500 and try to lose that many pounds by the end of the year.

An example: We take the current word count and divide that by 3500. We get…12.77. A bit low but I still got 10 more days to write.

Of course, if I hit my goal, there’s nothing stopping me from going forward.

I’m already making some lifestyle changes already, but a little extra motivation never hurts!

What do you guys think?

3 responses to “Day Twenty – A Long Day (and a serious request)

  1. I love this idea! It combines your love of writing with a healthy attitude. I just read your more recent post that you’re over 60k…there’s a few more pounds. I also think it’s smart to start with a small, attainable weight loss goal which will give you confidence to keep going. Good Luck!

  2. Pingback: Day Thirty – We are glorious | Gates' Claptrap

Leave a Reply

