Day Twenty-Two – What I was before I decided to take writing somewhat more seriously

Song of the Day: Welcome Home, by Coheed and Cambria

Word Count: 46,013

So I never really got into writingPerverse Selection until  the second half of my junior year of college.

It was after my second attempt at NaNoWriMo. The draft itself was awful, but some bits and pieces of it were salvageable and I began planning a story out that I always dreamed about.

I drew out characters. Wrote brief summaries of chapters and major events.  I’d spend more time planning this story out than paying attention in class (don’t tell my professors ok? I still got a 4.0 that semester so they don’t suspect a thing).

What kind of a writer was I?

Let me show you Exhibit A: A Paper I wrote for my Medieval and Renaissance British Literature Class

An English Paper on how the character Beowulf was an Epic Failure

To think I got a B+ on this paper.

It was my first major paper for the class. We had just finished reading Beowulf and we had to write a paper on a topic of our choice. The problem was – I just couldn’t think of a topic.

The day before the paper was due, a crazy idea hit me. While the main character was considered a hero and the poem itself was a heroic epic poem, what if I arguged that Beowulf (the character_ was in fact the opposite – an epic failure? Insane idea I know, but it was the first idea that had some substance.

I sat down with my favorite beverage in hand and typed away. Next day I handed in a completed paper.

As you can see, my paper was filled with errors. I just wasn’t the best writer in the class. That’s probably why I got a B+ on the paper.

So what’s the point of this post?

  1. I was pretty clutch during crunch time.
  2. As a writer, I was full of ideas, but I lacked some of the finer details.
  3. I used events like these as learning opportunities.

You see, I could have just told myself I wasn’t cut to be a writer.

But what was stopping me from getting better? All I had to do was teach myself the finer details of writing. Slowly but surely I’m improving my mechanics. I had the big ideas, I just had to work on my execution.

Anyway, in terms of NaNoWriMo – if you’re far behind, don’t fret. The fact that you’ve attempted this challenge and even managed to write a couple hundred or thousand words is an accomplishment in it of itself. Keep going guys!

 

Leave a Reply

